Pray with Me for a Sex Slave’s Freedom

Your Gifts double: Supna- Part 3

A few weeks ago, I sat in a small church in a North India city.  My team and our Indian hosts sat in a circle, like at a small prayer meeting.  Two young Indian women sat against the wall.  The younger one offered us a bright white smile and her intense eyes were wide open.

The pastor of the church introduced the women and said, “They are here to help us understand how they got trapped into prostitution and can’t break free from this lifestyle.  You can ask them any questions.”

The other Americans in the room looked at me to start because I had interviewed the destitute and the downtrodden many times before.  God has asked me to do this ministry for the last 20 years, so my mind was ready to hear their stories – I thought.

“What is your name and how old are you,” I asked.  “I am Supna, and I am 17 years old,” the young woman responded through the translator.

Oh my goodness, I thought.  She is very young, just about my oldest daughter’s age.

“How did you start in this business?” I asked.

“My father took a loan of $1,000.  He could not repay it and so I do this to repay the loan,” Supna said.

My heart sank further as the interview continued when I discovered that she could not leave this life.  She was forcibly selling herself so that she could repay her father’s loan.  The unfortunate secret we all knew was that the loan would never be repaid, and she would be violated daily until she died of AIDS or a customer beat her to death. 

“How long have you been doing this ‘job’?” I choked out, trying to ignore the tragic story of this young woman.  “Two months,” she replied.

I vividly remember the moment my heart broke.  I can’t remember the question that was asked, but the response still haunts me as my mind replays that afternoon in the church.  Supna, this 17 year old prostitute, in the business for only two months said, “My life is very, very bad.” 

The words I spoke next were not my own, because I had no words of hope to give her.  I said, “Supna, listen carefully.  Jesus is the God I worship.  He is the God above all other gods – the only true God.”  Hindus have many gods, and I needed to make clear that Jesus was the One True God.  “When He was on earth, He had many followers, just like you.  They were young women, just like you.  They were in the same ‘business’ as you.”  I paused after each phrase for the translator.  “But when they decided to follow Jesus, He gave them freedom, forgiveness, love and hope.  He would like you to follow Him and receive this same help.”

I then asked the woman on my team to pray with Supna.  The American woman asked all the men to leave to room.  Knowing that men had violated Supna, this prayer was going to be about Jesus and the girls, and rightly so.

Afterward, while reentering the room, I felt the strong presence of the Holy Spirit.  We thanked Supna for sharing her story with us.  Our team then met with the Indian leaders of the church and we set a plan to rescue Supna and 99 other women trapped in prostitution.

Some of the girls will have to be hidden away in rural villages to protect them from their bosses.  These young women need counseling, a Biblical understanding of how God can restore them, and the knowledge of how great His love is for them even though they believe they are unlovable, unworthy and hopeless.  Job skills will be necessary, such as computer skills to pay a decent wage and raise them up out of poverty.  Someday in the future, when it is safe, they will be able to return home.

This is no small task.  This is a hard program to launch.  But it begins with this 17 year old girl, a willing church, and Jesus.

Actually, I would like it to begin with Supna, the church, Jesus and YOU.  I need to see the Lord provide $10,000 in the next few days to help Supna and the other girls flee their lives of prostitution.  Perhaps you can give $50 or maybe you can give the entire amount.  I need each of you to help launch this new program.

  • Pray for Supna:  If you say a prayer for Supna please “Like” this story.  And share it on your Facebook profile.
  • Give a one-time gift here: donation.
  • I am praying for 30 new Hope Builders to help (as low as $30/month) rescue and rehabilitate these 99 women in need and for the ministry of touching the broken-hearted.  Please sign up by clicking here: Membership.
  • I am praying for 10 new Bright Hope Council members ($125/month) to begin underwriting the costs of this program and the ministry of Bright Hope.  You may also sign up here: Council.

Supna and the other women are waiting for us to help them.  Please join me in praying for Supna and the other trapped young women.

I have made the address to this story “Part1” because I hope to have other updates on Supna in the future.

Supna Part 2, Click Here

Your Gifts double: Supna- Part 3

Blessings,

C.H. Dyer

About C.H. Dyer

I am the CEO of Bright Hope. I am dedicated to helping those who earn less than $1.00 a day. There are one billion people in my target market (the extreme poor) and I could use some help. I am a Christian, father of three (two are internationally adopted), entrepreneur, speaker, improving writer and amateur photographer.

5 Responses to “Pray with Me for a Sex Slave’s Freedom”

  1. Glad you are spearheading a program to help girls escape sex trafficking.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Quadrupled! YOUR $10 GIFT NOW BECOMES $40 – 24Hrs. ONLY | C.H. Dyer - March 19, 2012

    […] Read Supna’s story here. Rate this: Share this:FacebookStumbleUponDiggTwitterRedditEmailPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Extreme Poverty, Missions Bright Hope, Human-Trafficking […]

  2. Your gifts now doubled! Double the help for young victims of human trafficking. | C.H. Dyer - March 17, 2012

    […] Supna’s Story – Part 1 Rate this: Share this:FacebookStumbleUponDiggTwitterRedditEmailPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Extreme Poverty, Missions Bright Hope, Human-Trafficking, India, matching gift, Missions, text-2-give […]

  3. Text-2-Give Freedom from Sex Slavery, Update Friday March 16th | C.H. Dyer - March 16, 2012

    […] for protection and for the girls to be able to make contact with our church partner to get out. Supna’s  Story – Part 1 Supna’s Story – Part 2 Rate this: Share […]

  4. 5 Days, 500 Text-to-Give Donations, 2 Girls Out of Sex Slavery | C.H. Dyer - March 14, 2012

    […] If you haven’t been following me closely you may have missed that on a recent trip to India I visited one of our church partners who is helping young girls out of sex slavery. I interviewed 2 girls and shared Supna’s story  last week: Supna – Part 1. […]

Leave a Reply

