The Quest to Love You.

On my wife’s side of the bathroom mirror, above the vanity, is a small note. The tape is yellowed from age and its edges have curled from the steamy air.  It doesn’t reveal the author, and I don’t know who gave it to her, or when she put up, but I wish I had noticed it earlier.  It’s a reminder of hope and love and when you stop to ponder its simple message your spirits are lifted.  It says,

“If God had a refrigerator, your picture would be on it

If God had a wallet, your photo would be in it

He sends you flowers every spring

And a sunrise every morning

Face it friend, He is crazy about you.”

When was the last time you had someone tell you they were crazy about you? Even if it was just a short while ago, I’ll bet you don’t hear these loving words frequently enough.  But God has been on a quest to capture your heart and tell you how much He loves you every day since you were born.  Even before your birth He was setting it up so that He could share His passionate love with you.

God created mankind to be in relationship with Him.  When sin got in the way, His Son offered to pay the penalty so that He could continue to send you His love.  When Christ finished clearing the path for us to accept God’s love, the Holy Spirit offered to regularly whisper to your soul that God is crazy in love with you.  So why is it we aren’t in touch with His great love for us on a daily basis?

We don’t feel His love impacting our lives because we set up our own roadblocks.  We get in the way of the delivery system. We have a habit of self-destructing and destroying the very opportunities when God wants to pour His love on us through our selfishness, prideful, sometimes lazy, and stubborn hearts.  We want our way, instead of His better ways.

Here are three steps to help God’s quest to love you manifest itself in your life:

1.  Pray and tell God you are sorry for not receiving His love.  Here is a sample prayer:

“Dear God, I have gotten in the way of your love.  I apologize, please forgive me.  I believe in Christ’s work on the cross for my selfish ways and I want the Holy Spirit to work in me to bring me closer to you.  I never want to be far from you, your ways and your love.”

2.  Read the Bible daily and do what it says, Psalm 1:1-3 Proverbs 8:34.  A terrific resource I have been using has been Youversion’s Bible reading plans. Specifically, for the past six months I have been reading the Lifetime Daily Devotions, offered by YouVersion, and finding terrific inspiration every day.  You can read them on your smart phone or on the internet.

3. Give to God’s work in the world.  The Bible is very clear that where we place our money our heart follows, Matthew 6:21.  In Malachi 3:10, God asks us to test Him by giving Him all that He asks and He promises to pour out blessings on you.   Make 2012 the year to test drive this verse and ask God for heaven’s bounty.

God is on a quest, He won’t give up on you, He hasn’t turned away.  He wants to bless you, protect you and to give you joy.  Let’s get out of His way and allow His love to flow.

Comments welcomed below.

This post is part of the monthly blog chain at Christian Writers. This month’s topic is quest.

Christian Writers Blog Chain: January

About C.H. Dyer

I am the CEO of Bright Hope. I am dedicated to helping those who earn less than $1.00 a day. There are one billion people in my target market (the extreme poor) and I could use some help. I am a Christian, father of three (two are internationally adopted), entrepreneur, speaker, improving writer and amateur photographer.

27 Responses to “The Quest to Love You.”

  1. Great post. I can think of a lot of people who could use this reminder from time to time. In some ways it is reminiscent of keeping a prayer journal…after a while it becomes evident that God is in fact answering, but sometimes at unexpected times and unexpected ways (but always at the right time and in the right way).

  2. A great reminder of such an important universal truth. No, one can never here this particular truth often enough, be it from a friend, spouse, family member, or the Father of Love Himself. Great words. Thank you.

  3. Great article. I really like your take on Quest. So often we are tempted to think about ourselves being on a quest in response to God, but Christianity really is all about God’s quest for us.

    I will have to be more aware of any roadblocks that I am placing.

  4. We’re often so focused on our quest to reach God, we lose sight of His relentless quest to reach us. It’s a good reminder to each of us. Thanks for the wise words, my friend.

  5. Deborah K. Anderson Reply January 10, 2012 at 22:42

    This is so true, C.H. God’s quest is the reason I’m here now. 🙂

    God bless you, brother.

  6. I can understand why you have that quote at the ready it is great! Your post reminds me of my previous pastor in CA who was always reminding us that God is crazy in love with us.

  7. Beautiful. Just beautiful. Love that God knows and sees and draws us every moment of every day — just as we are, so He can lovingly work in us to refine and purify us into vessels truly fit for a King!

  8. ” God has been on a quest to capture your heart and tell you how much He loves you every day since you were born. Even before your birth He was setting it up so that He could share His passionate love with you” This is a great comment. Thanks for sharing.

  9. Can I just say wow! Tears as I read your post!

    • Thanks Debra. I once had a pastor tell me his secret to good preaching was to make his congregation cry and laugh in the same sermon. SO I guess I got the crying, now just need the laughter. Thanks for checking in. Blessings.

  10. Nicely done! God IS crazy in love with us; it shouldn’t be unrequited on our part.

    I love questing through the Bible…

  11. The posts this month are so deep! This was a beautiful reminder

  12. Great post, C.H. We all need to remember how God feels about us, how He’ll never leave or forsake us.

    It’s been over 25 years since any human told me he was crazy about me. Praise God, He tells me He’s crazy about me all the time. 🙂

  13. Thanks for the encouragement and comment, Terrie.

  14. Thank you for your simple reminder that the Lord is passionately in love with us. His love is amazing, unfortunately, like you pointed out, we get in the way of receiving his bounty. Great post

  15. Great reminder! It’s amazing how much God loves us and wants a relationship with us. Thank you!

  16. Wonderful post. I love the message on that little note. We’ve been on a day trip all day…left 7:00 AM this morning and got back at 7:00 PM. Eight of those twelve hours were spent driving back and forth. I decided to do a quick check on the internet. Your post bouyed my road-weary spirits. ;o) Peace and Blessings

    • I am glad you found comfort and hope in God’s love. Hopefully today will be a less traveled day for you. Many blessings to you, thanks for leaving your comments.

  17. “God is on a quest, He won’t give up on you, He hasn’t turned away. He wants to bless you, protect you and to give you joy. Let’s get out of His way and allow His love to flow.”
    Excellent advice. Life would go so much smoother if we would just leave things up to the Lord and allow Him to pour Himself into our lives. Great post. God bless.

    • Thanks so much for your kind words. Why we continually get in God’s way is the great pain of life, why He keeps loving us so much is the great mystery.

  18. good quest post

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Quest | CWBC « Word Obsession - January 25, 2012

    […] 1/4: CH Dyer, Thoughts and Visions […]

Leave a Reply

